Santé Dog

My Space Dog

Les yeux de votre chien (2)

La plupart des propriétaires de chiens, sinon la totalité d'entre eux, jamais envisager de regarder dans les yeux de leur animal pour des signes de maladie, en particulier les chiens avec des cheveux sur les yeux.

Il y a un mythe qui coupe les cheveux loin des yeux d'un chien va causer la cécité, mais, en fait, Les yeux d'un chien sont beaucoup moins susceptibles de devenir malades si la zone est libre de l'air. Les chiens avec des cheveux de plus en plus sur leurs yeux doivent soit avoir coupé ou épinglé retour.

Glaucome

Le problème le plus grave qui peut résulter d'un œil enflammé est une condition appelée le glaucome. Le glaucome se produit lorsque la pression de fluide à l'intérieur de l'oeil est trop élevée. Elle est provoquée lorsque le passage qui draine le fluide hors de la pupille devient trop étroite pour permettre le passage du fluide. Glaucoma can and does cause blindness if not treated immediately. Inflammation of the eye is one thing which can cause the drainage passage to become swollen shut.

Le glaucome peut également être provoquée par une tumeur dans l'œil, ou par une maladie héréditaire propre à certaines races, dans lequel l'angle d'écoulement de fluide dans l'oeil est trop faible à la naissance. Terriers Wire-haired, Basset Hounds, cockers, et Malamutes sont plus susceptibles d'être né avec cet angle anormalement étroit de drainage que la plupart des chiens.

Si le glaucome est pas traitée immédiatement en allégeant la pression extrêmement élevée du fluide oculaire, une grande partie de la douleur et la cécité éventuelle entraînera. Les propriétaires, en particulier des races mentionnées, devrait surveiller la rougeur dans la partie blanche des yeux de leur chien, pupilles dilatées ou grandes, et le frottement des yeux par le chien. Si les symptômes sont traités tôt, la cécité peut être évitée.

Vérifiez Les Paupières

De nombreux problèmes oculaires nécessitent des tensions médicales provoquées par des anomalies de la paupière. Ce sont des problèmes que le chien est né avec, et encore, certain breeds are especially prone to certain abnormalities. The two most common types of eyelid abnormalities are ectropian, dans lequel la paupière se révèle, et entropion, dans laquelle le couvercle tourne vers l'intérieur en direction de l'oeil.

Bloodhounds, Basset Hounds, Cocker et épagneuls springer, St. Bernards and Akitas are some of the breeds most likely to suffer from ectropian. Entropian est souvent vu dans Chows, Bulldogs, dobermann, Setters, golden Retrievers, caniches, et St. Bernards.

Les deux conditions peuvent causer une infection et une inflammation de l'œil. Ils sont le plus souvent corrigées par chirurgie. La chirurgie cosmétique est une, dans le but de corriger la confirmation de la paupière du chien. La partie de la paupière qui affaisse ou tourne vers l'intérieur est retiré, rendant l'œil normal. Il est une procédure compliquée, et qui dans presque tous les cas, résout les problèmes oculaires du chien.

 



Retour au sommet ↑

Dog Health Puppy in Bed

My Dog Space

Your Dog’s Eyes (2)

Most dog owners, if not all of them, never consider looking into their pet’s eyes for signs of illness, especially dogs with hair over their eyes.

There is a myth that cutting the hair away from a dog’s eyes will cause blindness, but, in fact, a dog’s eyes are much less likely to become diseased if the area is free of air. Dogs with hair growing over their eyes should either have it trimmed or pinned back.

Glaucoma

The most serious problem that can result from an inflamed eye is a condition called glaucoma. Glaucoma occurs when the fluid pressure within the eye gets too high. It is caused when the passage which drains the fluid out of the pupil becomes too narrow to allow fluid to pass. Glaucoma can and does cause blindness if not treated immediately.  Inflammation of the eye is one thing which can cause the drainage passage to become swollen shut.

Glaucoma can also be caused by a tumor in the eye, or by an inherited condition peculiar to certain breeds, in which the angle of fluid drainage in the eye is too narrow at birth. Wire-haired Terriers, Basset Hounds, Cocker Spaniels, and Malamutes are more apt to be born with this abnormally narrow angle of drainage than most dogs.

If glaucoma is not treated immediately by alleviating the extremely high pressure of the eye fluid, a great deal of pain and eventual blindness will result. Owners, especially of the breeds mentioned, should watch for redness in the white part of their dog’s eyes, dilated or large pupils, and rubbing of the eyes by the dog. If the symptoms are treated early, blindness can be prevented.

Check The Eyelids

Many eye problems require medical tensions caused by eyelid abnormalities. These are problems the dog is born with, and again, certain breeds are especially prone to certain abnormalities.  The two most common types of eyelid abnormalities are ectropian, in which the eyelid turns out, and entropian, in which the lid turns inward toward the eye.

Bloodhounds, Basset Hounds, Cocker and Springer Spaniels, St. Bernards and Akitas  are some of the breeds most likely to suffer from ectropian. Entropian is often seen in Chows, Bulldogs, Doberman Pinschers, Setters, Golden Retrievers, Poodles, and St. Bernards.

Both conditions can cause infection and inflammation of the eye. They are most commonly corrected surgically. The surgery is a cosmetic one, for the purpose of correcting the confirmation of the dog’s eyelid. The part of the eyelid which droops or turns inward is removed, making the eye normal. It is not a complicated procedure, and one which in nearly every case solves the dog’s eye problems.

 



Back to Top ↑