狗的健康

我的狗的空間

水安全: 你冒著你的狗的生活。當效力於水?

如果你擁有一個拉布拉多獵犬, 愛爾蘭水獵犬, 或葡萄牙水犬, 做某種類型的水上活動是你的最佳途徑之一和你的狗在一起消磨時光. 不管他在海邊的浪翻滾玩耍或在淺溪取一棒, 花時間在水中與你的狗夥伴是享受戶外活動的好方法.

要把安全 #1

當你和你的狗都在水中劃動, 它要考慮安全,您的號碼是非常重要的 1 規則. 雖然許多狗可以很容易地扎入水中如魚得水, 有些犬是起初有點擔心,需要時間來習慣的體驗.

下面是 5 提示,以確保您和您的狗可以在水中的樂趣和安全時間.

1. 之前你的狗碰到水, 確保他健康狀況良好. 與您的獸醫諮詢,如果您有什麼疑問abouts其健康或健身水平.

2. 當把你的狗到水的第一次, 慢慢來,並通過他的腳步走. 這是尤其如此,如果他仍然是一隻小狗. 不要假設, 只是因為他是一個拉布拉多獵犬, 他自然會知道怎麼游泳,怎麼會自動蹬水安全.

3. 選擇一個溫暖, 淺水湖, 一個將很容易為你的第一個定時器操縱通過. 把他帶到水邊,讓他在探索自己的舒適水平. 不要濺到他或拖動他的水,你絕對相信他已經準備好之前. 給他幾分鐘時間來適應這種新的體驗. 迫使你的狗進入水中之前,他已經準備好將只把他嚇跑,減少他再次嘗試的機會.

4. 當他變得更加自信, 盡量把他的水在第一去,並叫他在同一時間. 引誘他請客扔一個玩具下水 (確保它是在短距離和他的深度內). 終於, 他會覺得更有信心去更遠, 特別是當他知道你有樂趣.

5. 在服用你的狗要大的水體, 如海洋或河流深, 這將是明智的齒輪他與犬救生衣. 這一點特別重要,如果他仍是新的游泳和/或如果他得到太興奮,而在水中嬉戲. 確保救生衣適合他正確,讓他習慣了有它在一段時間之前,深入到水中游泳.

 



回到頂部 ↑

Dog Health

My Dog Space

Water Safety: Are You Risking Your Dog’s Life When Playing In Water?

If you own a Labrador Retriever, Irish Water Spaniel, or a Portuguese Water Dog, doing some type of water activities is one of the best ways for you and your dog to spend time together. Whether he is playing along the rolling waves of the ocean or fetching a stick in a shallow creek, spending time in the water with your canine buddy is a great way to enjoy the great outdoors.

Make Safety #1

When you and your dog are both paddling in the water, it is very important to think about safety as your number 1 rule. While many dogs can easily plunge into the water like a duck, some canines are a little apprehensive at first and need time to get used to the experience.

Below are 5 tips to ensure that both you and your dog can have a fun and safe time in the water.

1. Before your dog hits the water, make sure that he is healthy and in good condition. Consult with your veterinarian if you have any doubt abouts his health or fitness level.

2. When taking your dog to the water for the first time, do it slowly and go by his pace. This is especially true if he is still a puppy. Never assume that, just because he’s a Labrador Retriever, that he will naturally know how to swim and will automatically tread the water safely.

3. Pick a warm, shallow body of water, one that will be easy for your first-timer to maneuver through. Take him to the edge of the water and let him explore at his own comfort levels. Do not splash him or drag him to the water before you are absolutely sure that he’s ready. Give him a few minutes to get used to this new experience. Forcing your dog to go into the water before he is ready will just scare him off and lessen the chance of him trying again.

4. As he gets more curious, try taking him to the water by going in first and call him at the same time. Lure him with a treat or throw a toy into the water (making sure it is at a short distance and within his depth). Eventually, he will feel more confident about going further out, especially when he knows that you are having fun.

5. Before taking your dog to a large body of water, such as the ocean or a deep river, it would be wise to gear him up with a canine life jacket. This is particularly important if he is still new to swimming and/or if he gets too excited while playing in the water. Make sure that the life jacket fits him properly and let him get used to having it on while swimming before going deeper into the water.

 



Back to Top ↑