狗的健康

我的狗的空間

總小狗護理 2: 你的小狗的新獸醫, 接種疫苗和過度的非處方藥

有一個幸福的小狗意味著保持健康的他, 並在提高一個年輕的小狗的主要問題之一是確保他是最好的健康. This can be accomplished by starting out with good quality veterinarian care. 事實上, 從飼養員帶來新的小狗直, 寵物商店, 或住所, 直接向獸醫是一個明智的開端, 特別是很多幼崽都配備了短期健康保障.

雖然你的小狗的醫生未必能預見什麼狗可以培養, 他肯定能指出先天性缺陷, 缺乏足夠的護理, 和已建立的和示出特徵的疾病. 他也可以告訴你關於疫苗接種, 驅蟲, 和營養.

這三個因素將是至關重要的。在他早期的正式幾個月保持你的小狗健康. 事實上, 所有的小狗護理建議應以全面和徹底的理解吸收,關於個人小狗的護理的權威信息應該從獸醫專門來.

一般接種疫苗

而疫苗接種程序與個人醫生變化,並且可以取決於小狗的健康和年齡, 的一般方法是基本相同的. 你的新寵物將獲得每隔一段時間一系列的疫苗接種 (一般 3 至 4 週) 直到他達到這會保護他 15 至 16 週齡.

在此刻, 他將不再受初乳被保護 (母親的初乳) 它提供天然抗體,以暫時地保護新生幼犬犬瘟熱. 當他已經超越了這個最初的保護, 經修飾的活疫苗犬瘟熱將有其充分發揮作用,並會保護他對抗疾病的一年.

有, 此時, 沒有一種疫苗是真正的永久. 每隻狗應該有犬瘟熱每年進行加強接種, 肝炎, 和鉤端螺旋體. 如果你的新的狗已經結束 14 週齡, 那麼他將可能只需要最後一次注射該系列提供長達一年的免疫力.

狂犬疫苗一般不給予,直到狗已經達到約 6 月齡. 然而, 為了保證您的小狗得到充分的保障, 它遵循有關疫苗接種的數量和適當的時機您的獸醫的建議是非常重要的.

保護你的小狗過度的非處方藥

一些過度的櫃檯準備驅蟲可用於寵物主人嘗試. 雖然許多的這些可能是無害的,當給予健康成年動物, 它們是潛在的危險特別是對unthrifty小狗誰嚴重受到寄生和其副作用衰弱, 或其他不相關的疾病.

 



回到頂部 ↑

Dog Health Vet examining a dog

My Dog Space

Total Puppy Care 2: Your Puppy’s New Veterinarian, Vaccinations and Over-The-Counter Medications

Having a happy puppy means keeping him healthy, and one of the primary concerns in raising a young pup is making sure he is in the best of health. This can be accomplished by starting out with good quality veterinarian care.  In fact, bringing your new pup straight from the breeder, pet shop, or shelter, directly to the veterinarian is a wise beginning, especially when many pups come equipped with a short-term health guarantee.

Although your puppy’s doctor may not be able to foresee what the dog may be incubating, he can certainly point out congenital defects, lack of adequate care, and diseases that are already established and showing signs. He can also advise you about vaccinations, worming, and nutrition.

These three factors will be essential to keeping your puppy healthy during his early formal months. In fact, all puppy care advice should be absorbed with the complete and total understanding that definitive information on the individual puppy’s care should come exclusively from the veterinarian.

General Vaccinations

While vaccination procedures vary with the individual doctor and may depend on the puppy’s health and age, the general procedure is essentially the same. Your new pet will get a series of vaccinations at periodic intervals (typically 3 to 4 weeks) which will protect him until he reaches 15 to 16 weeks of age.

At this point, he will no longer be protected by the colostrum (the mother’s first milk) which supplies natural antibodies to protect newborn puppies temporarily against distemper. When he has outgrown this initial protection, the modified live distemper vaccine will have its full effect and will protect him for a year against the disease.

There is, at this time, no vaccine that is truly permanent. Every dog should have yearly booster vaccinations against distemper, hepatitis, and leptospirosis. If your new dog is over 14 weeks of age, then he will probably only need the final injection in the series to provide year-long immunity.

The rabies vaccine is not generally administered until a dog has reached approximately 6 months of age. However, in order to guarantee that your puppy is fully protected, it is extremely important to follow your veterinarian’s advice about the number and proper timing for vaccinations.

Protect Your Puppy From Over-The-Counter Medications

Several over-the-counter worming preparations are available for the pet owner to try. While many of these may be harmless when given to the healthy adult animal, they are potentially dangerous especially to the unthrifty puppy who is severely debilitated by parasitization and its side effects, or other unrelated diseases.

 



Back to Top ↑