犬训练

我的狗的空间

显示你的狗: 训练秘诀

显示你自己的狗提供了许多奖励. 有成就和自豪的感觉,当你成功地处理你的狗到冠军的圈子, 尊重和亲情有了更深的债券,你和你的宠物之间共享.

前一个表演必要的疏导和其他准备工作感到是许多竞争对手一个非常轻松的爱好, 让他们有机会享受他们的狗更. 除了个人满意度, 也存在机会,以满足其他人感兴趣的是你的狗的品种与您可以分享利益和有用的提示, 还有欢乐和展示的失望.

开始, 让我们假设你已经拥有显示质量的狗, 因为获得一个讨论,本身就是另一个问题. 节目质量的狗可以被定义为一个满足, 或非常接近, 品种标准, 根据构, 尺寸, 类型, 配置和颜色. 如果你有保留,是否你的宠物狗是节目质量与否, 你应该问的品种当局和最好的,你可以通过阅读你的品种标准的副本,并密切审议顶级殊荣的狗照片评价你的宠物.

我还建议获得美国养犬俱乐部的副本 (AKC) 规章制度小册子治理狗展; 这可以通过写AKC完成. 如果此时你和其他有经验的犬展观众觉得你的狗有获胜的潜力, 你准备开始训练过程.

显示你的狗是更多地参与比任何旁观者实现. 需要为您和您的狗准备了大量的. 狗必须经过培训,要站在一个姿势表演,使法官可以摸着狗的结构和muscling第一手看着他,检查他的构. 狗必须站在完全静止,并提交到处理不咆哮, 退缩, 坐立不安, 或正在嬉戏,或深情.

开始姿势站在他的右手边,并把领先高达上他的脖子右边的耳朵后面教你的狗在表演站立. 然后扣率先在你的左手, 把狗的头部在一个较高的, 但舒适的高度, 并保持对铅光张力,所以它仍然存在. 现在,用右手达到下来,调整前, 与左前腿开始, 然后右,使得腿从所有侧面和垂直于地面平行. 脚趾应该直行指出, 无论向内或向外如鱼得水.

前腿之间的宽度根据品种和个别犬变化, 但最好的调整是,它提供了最坚实的基础为您的狗一. 在较小的品种, 它往往是允许将手放在狗的胸下成立前, 扶他略, 并让前下降自然到位. 如果你的狗落入了良好稳固的一贯立场, 这是你的优势,建立以同样的方式前.

从左侧改变导致右手 (在保持张力) 并开始调整后腿. 不放手的铅或让头部砸出来的位置,或你最可能会发现前将需要再次调整.

在一些狗具有很好的后轮, 很少或没有调整将是必要的,如果是这种情况, 大; 然而, 如果你的狗的后方是脱节, 通过调整左腿,然后正确的开始, 作为与前.

有立场的品种之间的一躯更大的变化. 例如, 德国牧羊犬显示有一个后腿向前,另一回来,请检查您的犬种照片,看看哪些是正确的你的类型的品种. 然而, 大部分显示用后腿平行略更宽的传播空间比前面. 从飞下来脚腕的线应垂直于地面用脚尖向前伸直.

在此刻, 你的狗应该是相当不错'叠’ 在他的节目构成. 确保腿部都没有转移, 然后检查你的狗的背线. 在多数品种, 背线水平,或对尾部向下倾斜. 再次, 检查品种的标准, 一些品种, 像惠比特犬和拉布拉多猎犬, 需要“蟑螂’ 背部. 如果背线是正确的, 确保尾巴在正确的位置和你的狗的头部与警报和聪明的表情.

当你变得更加精通, 你会看到,你可以做进一步的小的调整,以提高你的狗的外观和同时最大限度地提高自己的长处最大限度地减少他的缺点. 然而, 自带晚得多, 当您获得更多的经验. 让你的狗保持在第一这个姿势只有几秒钟,同时给予命令'住’ 然后给他吹捧和奖励他.

每天练习几次, 直到一个月后左右的实践,他将站在长达五分钟以上,您无需重新调整他. 总是尽量保持这些会话觉着你和你的狗,不要过于挑剔,直到他明白什么是对他的期望.

如果你有一只小狗, 你必须要特别耐心,并希望他保持的姿势是在持续时间短得多能力. 你的狗必须尽情展示或他不会在擂台上表现良好. 因此, 尽量做到乐趣,不要忘了奖励他的赞誉和他最喜欢的食物.

下一步是教你的狗递交给一个完全陌生的人被检查. 开始用谁知道狗的朋友; 当你抱着他在他的节目构成有你的朋友摸狗各地开始用脑袋, 正如法官会. 这包括离别狗的嘴唇,以便叮咬可以看出, 并拿起一次脚之一,拖放回原位. 问问你的朋友去慢慢地,彻底地,并轻轻地说话,你的狗,以免吓唬他.

与人你的狗知道并相信这更经常地练习, 并奖励他每次检查后. 当他平静地接受了体检, 问别人谁是一个完全陌生的你的狗,做同样的.

参加为狗服务的处理类是在这种情况下特别有用. 然而, 如果没有访问一个, 人们欣赏你的狗在这样一个公园,公共场所经常会投奔他,如果你问他们. 这个想法是让狗习惯依然保持,而他的在他的节目构成和陌生人正在研究他.

显示你的狗的另一个最重要的部分是在环gaiting. 你会被要求步态环周围的狗类的其余部分. 您也将被要求从事个体gaiting在指定模式. 有六个主要gaiting模式. 你需要学习,并与你的狗他们练习. 你必须花很多时间练习gaiting因为你在表演堆叠姿势.

同样重要的是找到gaiting速度,让你的狗最好看. 有些狗更延伸,并以较快的速度更好看, 而另一些人失去了所有的恩典和对称性在一个快节奏,应该慢慢地gaited. 要求其他狗展的竞争对手或滋生专家他们是怎么想你的狗最好的移动, 然后让其他人以不同的速度移动你的狗为你和你自己评价gaiting速度. 运动是在环秀非常重要. 正确构造的狗应该移动以及同时制作粗糙的狗不能.

如果你的狗是在环gaiting太慢, 在领先的短拖船通常会加速他起来. 从来没有一个恒定的拉拖着你的狗,因为他只会打你. 如果你的狗想移动过快也是如此. 通常, 你应该在宽松的领先移动你的狗,以示自然, 流体运动.

虽然gaiting在环秀, 不要逼参展商在你的面前, 而没有通过,除非有必要,或除非法官信号,你这样做. 如果你以前狗是慢得多, 忍住你的狗出去时,法官的眼睛, 创建你和前面的参展商之间的差距; 然后在你的狗的最好的步伐走出了法官的看法时,这样他就可以在他的最佳看到你的狗.

虽然gaiting环, 尽量保持你的狗和其他的法官一只眼睛,所以你可以当他观察你的狗看到,因此你如果他议案,你知道.

不要对任何人讲,而在环, 包括法官, 除非他问你一个问题. 你的狗保持安静,他的最好的行为,不要让他嗅出或与其他展示犬接触的,因为它可能会吓到孩子. 也, 从不训斥你的狗在环. 如果他行为不端, 后来照顾它, 但不要在环引起的场景, 尤其是在评委面前.

这也是时,你可以看在行动专业训犬员和了解不同的技术中流露出一个好主意. 您也可以通过看自己的风格和方法,取得优势.

 



回到顶部 ↑

Dog Training Two Dogs Sitting

My Dog Space

Showing Your Dog: Training Tips

Showing your own dog offers many rewards. There’s a sense of achievement and pride when you successfully handle your dog to the winner’s circle, and a deeper bond of respect and affection is shared between you and your pet.

The grooming and other preparation necessary before a show is felt to be a very relaxing hobby for many competitors, giving them a chance to enjoy their dogs more. Besides personal satisfaction, there also exists the opportunity to meet others interested in your breed of dog with whom you can share interests and helpful hints, as well as the joys and disappointments of showing.

To start, let us assume you already own a dog of show quality, since the discussion of obtaining one is another subject in itself. A dog of show quality can be defined as one that meets, or comes very close to, breed standards, according to conformation, size, type, disposition and color. If you have reservations as to whether your pet dog is of show quality or not, you should ask breed authorities and evaluate your pet as best you can by reading a copy of your breed standard and closely scrutinizing photos of top winning dogs.

I would also recommend obtaining a copy of the American Kennel Club (AKC) rules and regulations pamphlet governing dog shows; this can be done by writing to the AKC. If at this point you and other more experienced dog show goers feel your dog has winning potential, you are ready to begin the training process.

Showing your dog is more involved than any spectator realizes. A great deal of preparation is needed for both you and your dog. The dog must be trained to stand in a show pose so that the judge can look at him and examine his conformation by feeling the dog structure and muscling first hand. The dog must stand perfectly still and submit to the handling without growling, flinching, fidgeting, or being playful or affectionate.

Start teaching your dog to stand in a show pose by standing on his right side and placing the lead high up on his neck right behind the ears. Then clasp the lead in your left hand, place the dog’s head at a high, but comfortable height, and keep light tension on the lead so it remains there. Now reach down with your right hand and adjust the front, beginning with the left foreleg, then the right so that the legs are parallel from all sides and perpendicular to the ground. The toes should be pointed straight ahead, neither inward or outward like a duck.

The width between the front legs varies according to breeds and individual dogs, but the best adjustment is the one that provides the most solid base for your dog. On smaller breeds, it is often permissible to set up the front by placing a hand under the dog’s chest, lifting him slightly, and letting the front drop naturally into position. If your dog drops into a good solid stance consistently, it is to your advantage to set up the front in this same manner.

Change the lead from the left to the right hand (while maintaining the tension) and begin to adjust the rear legs. Do not let go of the lead or let the head drop out of position or you will most probably find the front will need readjusting again.

In some dogs with very good rears, little or no adjustment will be necessary and if that is the case, great; however, if your dog’s rear is out of line, begin by adjusting the left leg and then the right, as with the front.

There’s a greater variation of stances in the hindquarters between breeds. For example, German Shepherds are shown with one rear leg forward and the other back so check your breed photos to see which is correct for your type of breed. However, most are shown with the hind legs parallel and slightly wider spread than the front. The line of the pastern from the hock down should be perpendicular to the ground with toe straight forward.

At this point, your dog should be fairly well ‘stacked’ in his show pose. Make sure none of the legs have shifted, and then check your dog’s topline. In most breeds, the topline should be level or sloping downward towards the tail. Again, check your breed’s standard, as some breeds, like the Whippet and Borzoi, require a ‘roach’ back. If the topline is correct, make sure the tail is in the proper position and that your dog’s head is up with an alert and intelligent expression.

As you become more proficient, you will see where you can make further small adjustments to improve the appearance of your dog and minimize his faults while maximizing his strong points. However, that comes much later, after you gain more experience. Make your dog hold this pose for only a few seconds at first while giving the command ‘Stay’ then offer him lavish praise and reward him.

Practice this several times a day, until after one month or so of practice he will stand for up to five minutes or more without you having to readjust him. Always try to keep these sessions pleasant for both you and your dog and do not be overly critical until he understands what is expected of him.

If you have a puppy, you will have to be especially patient and expect his ability to hold the pose to be much shorter in duration. Your dog must enjoy showing or he will not perform well in the ring. Therefore, try to make it fun and don’t forget to reward him with praise and his favorite treats.

The next step is to teach your dog to submit to being checked by a complete stranger. Start with a friend who knows the dog; while you hold him in his show pose have your friend touch the dog all over beginning with his head, just as the judge would. This includes parting the dog’s lips so the bite can be seen, and picking up the feet one at a time and dropping them back into position. Ask your friend to go slowly and thoroughly and to speak softly to your dog so as not to scare him.

Practice this more often with people your dog knows and trusts, and reward him after each examination. When he calmly accepts the examination, ask someone who is a total stranger to your dog and do the same.

Attending a handling class for dogs is particularly helpful in this situation. However, if you don’t have access to one, people admiring your dog in a public place like a park will often go over him if you ask them. The idea is to get the dog used to remaining still while he’s in his show pose and strangers are examining him.

Another most important part of showing your dog is the gaiting in the ring. You will be asked to gait your dog around the ring with the rest of the class. You will also be required to engage in individual gaiting in specified patterns. There are six main gaiting patterns. You need to learn and practice them with your dog. You must spend as much time practicing gaiting as you do stacking in the show pose.

It is also important to find the gaiting speed that makes your dog look best. Some dogs extend more and look better at a fast speed, while others lose all grace and symmetry at a fast pace and should be gaited slowly. Ask other dog show competitors or breed experts how they think your dog moves best, and then have someone else move your dog for you at various speeds and evaluate the gaiting speed yourself. Movement is very important in the show ring. A properly constructed dog should move well while a poorly constructed dog cannot.

If your dog is gaiting too slowly in the ring, short tugs on the lead will usually speed him up. Never drag your dog along with a constant pull because he will only fight you. The same is true if your dog wants to move too fast. Generally, you should move your dog on a loose lead in order to show natural, fluid movement.

While gaiting in the show ring, do not crowd the exhibitor in front of you, and do not pass unless it is necessary or unless the judge signals you to do so. If the dog before you is much slower, hold back on your dog when out of the judge’s eye, creating a gap between you and the preceding exhibitor; then move out at your dog’s best pace when in the judge’s view so he can see your dog at his best.

While gaiting in the ring, try to keep one eye on your dog and the other on the judge so you can see when he is observing your dog and so you are aware if he motions to you.

Do not speak to anyone while in the ring, including the judge, unless he asks you a question. Keep your dog quiet and on his best behavior and don’t let him sniff or come in contact with the other show dogs as it may frighten them. Also, never reprimand your dog in the ring. If he misbehaves, take care of it later, but do not cause a scene in the ring, especially in front of the judges.

It is also a good idea to watch the professional dog handlers in action when you can and learn more about different techniques in showing. You can also gain advantage by watching their style and methods.

 



Back to Top ↑