犬種

我的狗的空間

服務探測狗: 是拉布拉多犬的新英雄崛起? (部分 1)

當你聽到一個真正的生命的英雄的說話人在勇敢的時刻反應,做了一件勇敢, 不管涉及的風險, 狗很少想到. 但一些勇氣和成就的最驚人的壯舉是由服務,經過訓練的狗每一天做.

對五角大樓和世貿中心的災難性恐怖襲擊後 2001, 需要高度熟練的工作犬,以檢測炸彈, 毒品, 化學製品, 和炸藥暴漲. 此外, 更多的搜救犬 (SAR) 均需求,以及.

以往, 工作犬,如馬里努阿犬和, 更常見, 德國牧羊犬, 接手這些類型的角色. 但今天, 拉布拉多犬正在獲得巨大聲望作為首選品種,這些苛刻的和潛在的危險情況.

事實上, 美國運輸安全管理局, 我們. 海關, 和奧本大學的犬檢測培訓中心都開始檢測犬育種計劃是 100% 獨有的拉布拉多獵犬.

是什麼讓拉布拉多獵犬所以合格?

調查研究表明,大多數狗 (一般來說) 具備檢測極微量的氣味的能力, 估計要低於 400 萬億分之一. 僅此能力使得狗比任何機械探測裝置更可靠可用. 此外, 狗也有直接守住氣味和微量元素,香味源的能力.

這些技能是常見的與一般的狗, 所以,當你考慮到現場和狩獵拉布拉多犬是基因的青睞,當一個獵人發送出去檢索犯規倒下來定位遊戲, 僅此一點就增加了更多的權力和能力,一個實驗室的檢測能力. 當狩獵, 所有的獵人必須做的就是給實驗室的鳥下降,其中一般區域, 和狗沒有休息, 拿起氣味,並帶回獵物.

除了不必僅僅依賴於土地面積來跟踪一個特定的鳥, 這些拉布拉多獵犬也必須屏蔽掉了,一路上都降臨其他氣味的能力. 他必須能夠以成功對抗這些其他氣味辨別. 這些外部氣味往往可以如此強大,其他的狗將無法集中精力,按照直接目標線像拉布拉多獵犬能.

另一個原因是拉布拉多獵犬使優秀的探測犬是由於其職業道德. 這些狗是非常聰明,似乎有源源不斷的驅動學習. 和實驗室總是乞求事做. 他們喜歡與人打交道,而不是其他的狩獵犬種傾向於將獨立行事. 面臨危險的情況有殺死人類的潛能時,此人犬comradery是必不可少的.

 



回到頂部 ↑

Dog Breeds Golden

My Dog Space

Service-Detection Dogs: Is The Labrador Retriever The New Rising Hero? (Part 1)

When you hear somebody speak of a true life hero that reacted in a moment of bravery and did something courageous, regardless of the risks involved, a dog rarely comes to mind. But some of the most amazing feats of bravery and accomplishments are done by service-trained dogs each and every day.

After the disastrous terrorist attacks on the Pentagon and the World Trade Center in 2001, the need for highly skilled working dogs to detect bombs, narcotics, chemicals, and explosives skyrocketed. In addition, more search and rescue dogs (SAR) were in demand as well.

In the past, working breeds such as the Belgian Malinois and, more commonly, the German Shepherd, took over these types of roles. But today, the Labrador Retriever is gaining huge popularity as the breed of choice for these demanding and potentially dangerous situations.

In fact, the Transportation Security Administration, U.S. Customs, and the Auburn University’s Canine Detection Training Center have all initiated detection-dog breeding programs that are 100% exclusive to the Labrador Retriever.

What Makes The Labrador Retriever So Qualified?

Research studies have shown that most dogs (in general) have the ability to detect infinitesimal amounts of scent, estimated to be lower than 400 parts per trillion.  This ability alone makes dogs more reliable than any mechanical detection device available. In addition, dogs also have the ability to hold onto an odor and trace that scent directly to its source.

These skills are common with dogs in general, so when you consider that field and hunting Labradors are genetically favored to locate game when a hunter sends them out to retrieve fallen foul, this alone adds more power and ability to a Lab’s detection ability. When hunting, all a hunter has to do is give the Lab a general area of where the bird fell, and the dog does the rest, picks up the scent and brings back its prey.

In addition to having to rely on only an area of land to track down a particular bird, these Labrador Retrievers must also have the ability to block out every other scent that comes along the way. He must be able to discriminate against these other odors in order to be successful. These outside odors can often be so powerful that other dogs would not be able to concentrate and follow the direct target line like the Labrador Retriever can.

Another reason why Labrador Retrievers make excellent detection dogs is due to its work ethic. These dogs are highly intelligent and seem to have an endless drive to learn. And Labs are always begging for something to do. They enjoy working with people as opposed to other hunting breeds that prefer to act independently. This human-canine comradery is essential when facing a dangerous situation that has the potential to kill human beings.

 



Back to Top ↑