小狗

我的狗的空间

Q和A: 新狗, 马虎饮食和睡眠安排

题:

“我的一个朋友给了我一个混合的小狗,她无法跟上. 他现在一岁多. 他正要 7 个月大时,她得到了他,并一直是位在狗舍其他的狗欺负. 当她得到了他家里,她有困难的很大,试图拆屋他, 她一走的大部分时间. 她还有另外一个小的狗从一月至六月, 在这期间,她接受了一个离婚. 然后,“土豆’ (新狗) 在整个暑假期间留下几乎完全孤独.

我想知道是如何得到我自己的狗,以适应虎. 狗训练书是充满了几乎没有任何帮助,在获得对狗的信息 (和猫 : 我有一个的话, 太) 调整到彼此.

我该如何让他们自己吃的食物? 也, 新的狗喝的水和滴落满地. 我该怎么做关于寝室? 另外两个被用来和我一起睡. 以及如何让他们到外面去便盆,当他想告诉我?’

我们的答案:

有几乎诱发个别狗和/或猫容忍对方的没有保证的方法. 就像人们, 有些人会永远相处融洽, 然而, 如果有足够的时间最起码成为相互宽容. 通常情况, 一家独大的顺序必须建立, 这可能涉及一些非暴力“的小规模冲突’ 动物之间.

在参考了食盆问题, 这是相当普遍, 即使在动物已建立了友好关系. 在一顿饭 (一个给定的用餐时常常数倍), 占主导地位的个人将在牛角上的另一个人谁反过来可能会移动到空出的碗或试图从他的碗里分离第三方.

对于这类问题最好的解决方案是不是决定谁,应该从哪些碗,吃的时候. 让他们决定 : 如果有人越来越不到他需要的 (或者更多), 简单地喂它们在不同的房间.

关于饮水马虎, 可惜这仅仅是一个坏习惯这几乎是不可能纠正.

在问候宿舍睡觉, 你在哪里希望新的狗睡? 如果你发现两只狗和一只猫在你的床上相互容忍的, 再细. 然而, 我知道了一些狗没有与它们的主人特别舒适的床在时间, 并没有遭受心理问题.

行窃需要耐心和毅力. 尽管一些技术在很多狗的培训用书概述, 一个“最好的’ 方法似乎是外面经常往返, 特别是在进食后, 温柔 (但坚定) 为谴责“事故”, 这应该紧跟与外部一趟便盆区.

 



回到顶部 ↑

Puppies Puppy in Bed

My Dog Space

Q and A: New Dogs, Sloppy Eating and Sleeping Arrangements

Question:

‘A friend of mine gave me a mixed pup that she was unable to keep. He’s over a year old now. He was about 7 months old when she got him and had been a bit bullied by the other dogs in the kennel. When she got him home she had a great deal of difficulty with trying to housebreak him, as she was gone most of the time. She also had another small dog from January to June, during which time she underwent a divorce. Then ‘Spuds’ (the new dog) was left almost totally alone during the entire summer.

What I am wondering is how to get my own dog to adjust to Tiger. The dog training books are full of virtually no help in obtaining information on dogs (and cats : I have one of those, too) adjusting to each other.

How do I get them to eat their own food? Also, the new dog drinks water and drips all over the floor. What do I do about sleeping quarters? The other two have been used to sleeping with me. And how do I get them to go potty outside and to tell me when he wants to?’

Our Answer:

There are virtually no guaranteed methods of inducing individual dogs and/or cats to tolerate each other. Just like people, some will never get along well, however, most at least become mutually tolerant if given enough time. Typically, a dominance order must be established, and this may involve a few non-violent ‘skirmishes’ between the animals.

In reference to the food bowl problem, this is quite common, even in animals which have established friendly relationships. During a meal (often several times during a given meal), the dominant individual will horn in on another individual who in turn may move over to the vacated bowl or attempt to separate a third party from his bowl.

The best solution for this kind of problem is not to decide who should eat from what bowl and when. Let them decide : and if someone is getting less than he needs (or more), simply feed them in separate rooms.

About the sloppy water drinking, unfortunately this is just a bad habit which is virtually impossible to correct.

In regards to sleeping quarters, where do you want the new dog to sleep? If you find two dogs and a cat in your bed mutually tolerable, then fine. However, I’ve known a number of dogs that were not particularly cozy with their owners at bed time, and suffered no psychological problems.

Housebreaking requires patience and perseverance. Although several techniques are outlined in many dog training books, the one ‘best’ method seems to be frequent trips outside, especially after eating, and gentle (but firm) reprimands for ‘accidents’, which should be immediately followed with a trip outside to the potty area.

 



Back to Top ↑