狗的健康

我的狗的空間

寄生蟲 3: 更多關於跳蚤和扁蝨

跳蚤和扁蝨是外部寄生蟲引起你的寵物的煩惱和健康問題. 下面是兩個問題回答了關於跳蚤和壁蝨.

我怎樣才能保持我的狗免費這些寄生蟲?

跳蚤控制產品,如預防及前線工作得非常好於大多數寵物. 在沉重的寄生蟲集中區域, 持續的監督是必要的. 當根據由獸醫或產品製造商提供的說明書使用, 精鋌罰款,輕使用,中度跳蚤的侵擾.

一定要小心,只使用專為貓科動物在你的貓的這些產品,避免弄濕控制跳蚤項圈它, 當潤濕, 釋放危險濃度的毒藥太快了動物的身體容忍.

與地毯和地毯應考慮跳蚤塞屋. 這些產品, 當應用於地毯和地毯區, 會殺死跳蚤卵和幼蟲長達一年. 真空地毯,每週至少兩次, 在重點領域你的寵物流連.

對於蜱還是非常沉重的跳蚤, 更極端的方法,如常規的浸漬, 噴, 或粉可能是必要的,以保持局勢失控. 在落基山斑疹熱的地區並不普遍, 個別蜱可以用酒精浸泡,並用鑷子取出. 然而, 噴霧和浸泡的行為不僅殺死存在於寵物身上的蜱也有助於防止另一為患的治療後至少10天.

口服藥物也可在內部工作,以殺死咬你的寵物跳蚤任何剔或但這些藥物必須在嚴格的獸醫的監管給予. 事實上, 使用任何控制跳蚤之前的產品, 尤其是農藥, 這是明智的諮詢您的獸醫建議和說明,以確保這些潛在的危險產品的安全應用.

怎麼樣跳蚤 & 蜱眾議院?

這可以說是相當有問題. 許多產品已被用於試圖阻止跳蚤在人類居住區築巢和繁殖蜱, 狗屋, 和灌木林. 然而, 有跳蚤的菌株和蜱常用耐化學品. 諮詢您的獸醫最好跳蚤預防產品使用為您的家庭. 當應用跳蚤預防產品, 特別應注意,所有窗框, 牆板, 和門檻徹底治療.

由於這些產品很多是有毒的,以你的寵物, 以及跳蚤, 人類和所有寵物應該從區域去掉治療後幾個小時. 這是對待動物本身一個理想的時間,這樣當他們回到沒有寄生蟲重新進了屋. 許多客戶和寵物主人發現它更容易聘請專業滅蟲擺脫家園, 狗舍, 灌木, 或跳蚤和扁蝨的貓舍.

保持你的狗跳蚤自由和蜱今年夏天可能不會是最容易的,或最有趣的任務來完成, 然而, 由於涉及到侵染與外部寄生蟲的許多問題, 跳蚤和蜱根除的一個重要目標, 這對你的狗的健康和舒適, 以及你自己. 您的獸醫可以提供控制在您的區域特定的常見寄生蟲的具體信息和資源.

 



回到頂部 ↑

Dog Health Hound

My Dog Space

Parasites 3: More On Fleas And Ticks

Fleas and ticks are external parasites that cause annoyance and health problems on your pets. The following are two questions answered about fleas and ticks.

How Can I Keep My Dogs Free Of These Parasites?

Flea control products such as Prevention and Frontline works very well for most pets. In areas of heavy parasite concentration, constant supervision is necessary. When used according to instructions supplied by the veterinarian or product manufacturer, fine collars are fine to use in mild to moderate flea infestations.

Caution must be taken to use only those products designed for felines on your cats and to avoid wetting the flea control collar which, when moistened, release dangerous concentrations of poison too rapidly for the animal’s body to tolerate.

Houses with rugs and carpets should consider flea stoppers. These products, when applied to rugs and carpeted areas, will kill flea eggs and larvae for up to one year. Vacuum the carpet at least twice a week, focusing in areas where your pet frequents.

For ticks or very heavy flea infestation, more extreme methods such as routine dipping, spraying, or powdering may be necessary to keep the situation from getting out of hand. In areas where Rocky Mountain spotted fever is not widespread, individual ticks may be soaked with alcohol and removed with tweezers. However, spraying and dipping act not only to kill ticks present on the pet’s body but serve also to prevent another infestation for at least ten days following treatment.

Oral medications are also available that work internally to kill any flea or tick that bites your pet but these medications must be given under strict veterinary supervision. In fact, before using any flea control product, especially pesticide, it is wise to consult your vet for suggestions and instructions to ensure safety applications of these potentially dangerous products.

What About Fleas & Ticks In The House?

This can be quite a problem. Many products have been used to try to prevent fleas and ticks from nesting and breeding in human living quarters, doghouses, and shrubbery. However, there are strains of fleas and ticks resistant to commonly used chemicals. Consult your vet for the best flea prevention product to use for your home. When applying a flea prevention product, special care should be taken that all window casings, wall boards, and door sills be thoroughly treated.

Since many of these products are toxic to your pet, as well as the fleas, humans and all pets should be removed from the area for several hours after treatment. This is an ideal time to treat the animals themselves so that no parasites are reintroduced into the house when they return. Many clients and pet owners find it easier to hire a professional exterminator to rid their homes, kennels, shrubbery, or cattery of fleas and ticks.

Keeping your dog free of fleas and ticks this summer may not be the easiest or most enjoyable task to accomplish, however, because of the many problems related to infestation with external parasites, eradication of fleas and ticks is an important goal, both for your dog’s health and comfort, as well as your own. Your vet can provide specific information and resources on controlling particular parasites common in your area.

 



Back to Top ↑