狗的健康

我的狗的空間

寄生蟲 1: 那些煩人的跳蚤返回!

這是每年都不盡相同悲歌: “我的狗有跳蚤,他們是失控”!

每當天氣暖和的方法, 全國各地的獸醫將再次與擔心狗和貓主人誰是發動針對外寄生蟲的經常性戰鬥的投訴和問題溢出, 尤其是跳蚤和壁蝨.

寄生蟲和並發症它們所造成的問題是一個廣泛而嚴重的, 而是一個在同一時間或其他面臨幾乎每個寵物主人. 在努力饒你的寵物患上這個即將到來的夏季大量, 我們想回答由寵物主人最經常詢問那些惱人的寄生蟲兩個問題; 跳蚤和壁蝨.

究竟是什麼跳蚤 & 蜱?

跳蚤是很小的昆蟲, 作為成年人, 必須從另一個生物吸血來維持自己的生活. 跳蚤是無翅, 六足寄生蟲, 能夠以驚人的速度跳躍,並可以由單獨數千侵擾你的寵物. 跳蚤是一個黑暗, 紅褐色, 類似乾涸的血跡,是在美國的大部分地區找到了共同的外部寄生蟲.

蜱, 在苦難的朋友可以到跳蚤, 在顏色一般黑, 數倍跳蚤大, 和你的寵物時,不會動一下,而是附著於你的寵物的皮膚並保持在該點,直到它已滿足其對血液飢渴.

雌蜱, 與充血, 可能看起來像一個大, 灰白色, 浮腫豌豆大小的對象,, 仔細檢查, 是由它的微小口附著到動物的皮膚. 通常在靠近女性的軟肋在於另一個較小的刻度, 男性等待完成繁殖週期.

我如何知道我的寵物有跳蚤或蜱?

與外部寄生蟲侵染的動物的最常見的反應是貪劃傷或在他的皮膚咀嚼. 你的寵物的皮膚和毛髮的經常定期檢查為宜, 尤其是在溫暖的春季和夏季,當寄生蟲問題,達到其峰值性能. 跳蚤經常出沒的地方,從整個跳躍動物的屍體的地方.

如果沒有跳蚤是顯而易見, 接近外觀部件動物的皮毛和檢查跳蚤排泄物, 這是小黑點, 辣椒般的污垢, 當濕, 重新獲得跳蚤攝入血液的顏色. 這一發現是一個很好的保證,跳蚤出現在你的寵物. 在長毛動物, 檢查下腹, 生殖器, 和稀疏的頭髮生長的其他地區,有時會提供線索,當一切都失敗.

蜱更容易識別的,因為它們很容易被肉眼看到. 如果長頭髮是在路上, 從頭部到腳趾的動物的皮膚進行徹底的行程通常將他們的小的感覺,揭示蜱的下落, 硬殼的身體緊貼肌膚.

飽食的雌蜱一般都是因為他們大大擴大規模和獨特的外觀相當明顯. 耳朵提出蜱時經常被忽視, 肛門周圍, 在尾, 在掌墊之間, 所以一定不要忽視這些領域.

 

 



回到頂部 ↑

Dog Health Yorkshire Terrier Dog

My Dog Space

Parasites 1: Those Annoying Fleas Are Back!

It’s the same sad song each year: ‘My dog has fleas and they are out of control’!

Every time warm weather approaches, veterinarians across the country will once again be overflowed with complaints and questions from worried dog and cat owners who are waging the recurrent battle against external parasites, particularly fleas and ticks.

The problem of parasites and the complications they cause is an extensive and serious one, but one that has been faced by nearly every pet owner at one time or another. In an effort to spare your pet a great deal of suffering this coming summer, we would like to answer two questions that are most commonly asked by pet owners about those annoying parasites; fleas and ticks.

What Exactly Are Fleas & Ticks?

Fleas are tiny insects that, as adults, must suck blood from another creature to sustain their own lives. Fleas are wingless, six-legged parasites, capable of jumping with surprising speed and may infest your pet alone by the thousands. The flea is a dark, reddish-brown color, similar to dried blood and is a common external parasite found in most parts of the United States.

The tick, a friend in misery to the flea, is generally dark in color, several times larger than the flea, and when on your pet does not move about but rather attaches itself to your pet’s skin and remains at that spot until it has satisfied its hunger for blood.

The female tick, engorged with blood, may look like a large, grayish-white, puffy pea-sized object which, on closer inspection, is attached by its tiny mouth to the animal’s skin. Often in close proximity to the underbelly of the female lies another smaller tick, a male waiting to complete the breeding cycle.

How Will I Know If My Pet Has Fleas Or Ticks?

The most common reaction of an animal infested with external parasites is an insatiable desire to scratch or chew at his skin. Frequent periodic checks of your pet’s skin and coat are advisable, especially during warm spring and summer months when the parasite problem reaches its peak performance. Fleas are frequently spotted leaping from place to place across the animal’s body.

If no fleas are readily apparent, part the animal’s fur close to the skin and check for flea excrement, which are specks of black, pepper-like dirt that, when wet, regain the color of the blood ingested by the flea. This discovery is a very good guarantee that fleas are present in your pet. On long-haired animals, checking the lower abdomen, genitals, and other areas of sparser hair growth will sometimes give clues when all else fails.

Ticks are more easily identified since they are easily seen by the naked eye. If long hair is in the way, a thorough stroking of the animal’s skin from head to toe will usually reveal the whereabouts of ticks by the feel of their tiny, hard-shelled bodies close to the skin.

Engorged female ticks are generally quite obvious because of their greatly enlarged size and distinctive appearance. Ticks frequently go unnoticed when lodged in ears, around the anus, on the tail, and in between paw pads, so be sure not to neglect those areas.

 

 



Back to Top ↑