高级狗

我的狗的空间

旧的狗 : 得到合适的运动量为您成犬

当你的狗已经达到了他晚年 – 关于 7 岁的大品种, 14 岁的小型犬 – 他的能量水平可能更低, 他可能会开始安定下来了一点, 他可能只需要较少的运动.

另一方面, 这真的取决于你有什么样的狗. 你可能有一个是充满活力依旧, 驱动, 和非常活跃 – 早已进入他的黄金岁月. 如果是这种情况, 继续与您的正常行使日常的基础上, 也许只是速度稍慢. 一直走,直到你觉得他是准备退休,减缓.

保持运动的重中之重

如果你希望你的狗保持健康, 他需要每天锻炼, 不管他的年龄. 一旦你的狗朋友达到他的晚年, 然而, 你可能会降低锻炼,你是给他量, 但你应该永远不会停止. 许多老年犬仍然乐意去散步, 取一球, 或搭乘飞盘. 如果你觉得他快一点慢,需要较少的活动, 到公园或去海边旅行可能是他一个更好的选择.

要保持你的狗快乐和良好的身体和精神状况, 让他至少有 30 每一天锻炼分钟. 有几个例子练习,你可以用你的高级狗做的是: 短或长的步行, 在园区运行缓慢, 去海边, 要在短期加息的线索, 或者一个简单的游戏取. 这些活动,你的狗可以享受做得很好了他的晚年.

老年犬受伤

如果你的高级狗是从关节或骨骼遭受麻烦, 你需要他慢下来. 他仍然需要移动和保持活跃, 但量和锻炼的长度应保持在最低限度. 例如, 而不是做一个 3 英里的路程, 其修改为一个 1 英里的路程,并做到每天两次. 游泳是另一种选择锻炼犬髋关节发育不良或其他骨骼障碍症.

盯紧他

保住自己的运动时你的狗好眼力,并确保他没有推自己太辛苦. 狗喜欢取悦主人, 他们将自己推到了极限,如果他们认为这样做会让你快乐. 当心,他需要慢下来的迹象. 这种迹象: 跛行, 气吁吁的, 慢节奏, 或睡眠的运动后的很长一段时间, 这是严重的用尽的标志.

使用较软的地面

也请记住,老年犬,以及一些幼犬可以从硬性混凝土运行发展的关节损伤或垫脚受伤. 如果可能的话, 让你的狗跑步或行走污垢, 砂, 或草. 如果你没有选择,只能走他的具体, 避免运行和缓慢的步伐.

 



回到顶部 ↑

Senior Dogs Sunset Dog

My Dog Space

Older Dog : Getting The Right Amount Of Exercise For Your Adult Dog

When your dog has reached his senior years – about 7 years old for large breeds and 14 years old for small breeds – his level of energy may be lower, he may begin to settle down a bit, and he may only need less exercise.

On the other hand, it really depends on the kind of dog you have. You may have one that is still energetic, driven, and very active – well into his golden years. If this is the case, continue with your normal exercise on a daily basis, maybe just at a slower pace. Keep going until you feel that he is ready to retire and slow down.

Keep Exercise A Top Priority

If you want your dog to stay fit, he needs exercise every day, regardless of his age. Once your canine pal reaches his old age, however, you may decrease the amount of exercise that you are giving him, but you should never stop. Many older dogs are still happy to go on long walks, fetch a ball, or catch a Frisbee. If you feel that he is getting a little slow and requires less activity, a trip to the park or going to the beach may be a better alternative for him.

To keep your dog happy and in good physical and mental condition, let him have at least 30 minutes of exercise every single day. A few example exercises that you can do with your senior dog are: A short or long walk, slow runs in the park, going to the beach, going for a short hike on a trail, or a simple game of fetch. These are activities that your dog can enjoy doing well into his old age.

Older Dogs With Injuries

If your senior dog is suffering from a joint or bone trouble, you will need to slow him down.  He will still need to move and stay active, but the amount and length of exercise should be kept to a minimum. For example, instead of doing a 3 mile walk, modify it to a 1 mile walk and do it twice a day.  Swimming is another alternative exercise for dogs suffering with a hip dysplasia or other bones disorder.

Keep An Eye On Him

Keep a good eye on your dog during his exercise and make sure that he is not pushing himself too hard.  Dogs love to please their owners, and they will push themselves to the limit if they think that doing so will make you happy.  Watch out for any signs that he needs to slow down. Such signs are: limping, panting, slow in pace, or sleeping for a long period of time after the exercise, which is a sign of severe exhaustion.

Use Softer Ground

Also keep in mind that older dogs as well as some puppies can develop joint injuries or foot pad injuries from running on hard concrete.  If at all possible, let your dog run or walk on dirt, sand, or grass.  If you have no choice but to walk him on concrete, avoid running and slow the pace.

 



Back to Top ↑