狗的健康

我的狗的空间

旧的狗与病症

兽药的发展导致宠物的寿命延长, 但特殊问题还是突然出现在老年动物, 尤其是狗, 无论是作为一个老龄化的直接或间接结果.

一个旧的狗可以从各种主要和次要疾病通常不年轻折磨受害宠物. 其中最重要的问题是肾脏疾病, 聋, 关节炎, 眼部疾病, 前列腺炎, 和腹部肿胀.

肾脏疾病, 从太尿频,其中狗保留他的小便痛苦, 是很常见的老年犬. 一个常见的障碍是肾炎, 肾脏的炎症.

如果你的狗出现口渴,喝更多的水比平时, 这可能是肾炎的迹象,你应该带他到您的兽医进行诊断.

耳聋也是老年犬常见. 但预防措施可以采取要么推迟或避免.

如果你的狗开始在他的耳朵持续运行他奇怪的方式头或爪, 你应该怀疑感染, 通过他的耳朵可能只需要一个良好的清洁. 记得, 然而, 如果你深入到它自己,你可以做狗的耳朵不可逆的损害. 所以, 如果出现困难,甚至轻度严重, 与您的兽医立即咨询.

关节炎是另一种疾病从哪个旧的狗可能遭受. 帮助的一种方式是从寒冷的保持你的狗老化离开, 湿, 或通风良好的地方. 您的兽医可能会建议药物或注射,以减轻疼痛.

几乎所有的狗都会有一些混浊他们的学生,因为他们长大. 这就是所谓的核硬化; 晶状体纤维的自然压实,通常视力下降, 虽然没有失明的地步. 白内障是一个更严重的问题, 通常会导致失明或非常有限的愿景.

如果你的狗不愿跳上他最喜欢的椅子上,或在进入一个黑暗的房间不太愿意, 检查他的眼睛. 如果你看到一个蓝色的变色,他可能有白内障和专业的治疗将需要.

在男性旧的狗, 有一个前列腺肥大称为前列腺炎的问题. 前列腺的增大可能导致难以排尿. 如果狗不能排尿, 他的血液将保留,可在他的身体扩散的有毒物质. 所以,如果你发现你的狗是有排尿困难, 你应该马上去你的兽医.

任何腹部肿胀比脂肪的集合更应提请兽医立即关注. 肿胀可能是肝脏疾病的一个心脏的结果. 或者它可以是肿瘤的积累的结果. 肿胀是很少会自行清理的情况. 延误治疗可能危及复苏你的宠物的机会.

如果你的狗有定期体检, 你可以确信保护他免受严重的疾病. 如果你把他一检查,只要你怀疑什么是错的, 你将能够控制住大部分疾病.

 



回到顶部 ↑

Dog Health Dog Park

My Dog Space

Older Dog Ailments

Advances in veterinary medicine have led to increased longevity for pets, but special problems still crop up in older animals, especially dogs, either as a direct or indirect result of aging.

An older dog may suffer from a variety of major and minor ailments that do not normally afflict younger pets. Among the most important problems are kidney disorders, deafness, arthritis, eye disorders, prostatitis, and abdominal swelling.

Kidney ailments, ranging from too frequent urination to an affliction in which the dog retains his urine, are quite common in older dogs. A common disorder is nephritis, an inflammation of the kidneys.

If your dog appears thirsty and drinks more water than usual, it may be a sign of nephritis and you should take him to your veterinarian for diagnosis.

Deafness is also common in older dogs. But precautions can be taken either to postpone or avoid it.

If your dog begins to run his head in a strange manner or paws persistently at his ears, you should suspect an infection, through his ears might only need a good cleaning. Remember, however, that you can do irreversible damage to the dog’s ear if you dig into it yourself. So, if the difficulty appears even mildly serious, consult with your veterinarian immediately.

Arthritis is another ailment from which the older dog may suffer. One way to help is to keep your aging dog away from cold, wet, or drafty places. Your veterinarian may recommend medication or injections to alleviate the pain.

Almost all dogs will have some cloudiness in their pupils as they grow older. This is called nuclear sclerosis; a natural compaction of lens fibers that usually decreases vision, though not to the point of blindness. Cataracts are a more serious problem, usually resulting in blindness or very limited vision.

If your dog hesitates to jump on his favorite chair or balks at entering a darkened room, examine his eyes. If you see a bluish discoloration he may have a cataract and professional treatment will be required.

In the male older dog, there is the problem of an enlarged prostate known as prostatitis. The enlargement of the prostate gland may lead to difficulty in urinating. If a dog cannot urinate, his bloodstream will retain toxic substances that can spread throughout his body. So if you notice your dog is having difficulty in passing urine, you should go immediately to your veterinarian.

Any abdominal swelling that is more than a collection of fat should be brought to the immediate attention of the veterinarian. The swelling may be a result of a heart of liver ailment. Or it may be the result of an accumulation of tumors. The swelling is rarely a condition that will clear up by itself. Delay in treatment may jeopardize¬† your pet’s chances of recovery.

If your dog has regular checkups, you can be reasonably sure of protecting him against serious ailments. And if you take him for an examination as soon as you suspect something is wrong, you will be able to bring most ailments under control.

 



Back to Top ↑