Conseils pour chiens

My Space Dog

Déplacement dans un petit appartement: Est-ce que votre animal de compagnie se sentir accueilli? Partie 1

Comme villes à travers le monde continuent de grossir, les petites villes de banlieue sont également en augmentation de leurs populations et le frai grand appartement installations pour gérer la croissance. Ces complexes attirent non seulement les nouveaux arrivants, mais aussi les propriétaires dans la région. De nombreuses familles se négocient le dérange de garder une maison pour la commodité d'un appartement. Peut-être que votre famille est l'un de ceux-ci.

Vous faites face à la route avec des sentiments mitigés. Tristesse à se séparer de vieux amis, soulagement à connaître quelqu'un d'autre va fixer les robinets et couper l'herbe, et l'anticipation de plus de temps pour faire les choses que vous voulez faire. Bien sûr, the task of moving is enormous. You know it will take a while before your family is comfortable in the new home. But you’re prepared for some turbulence in the family routine. Mais votre animal de compagnie?

La publicité lire 'Animaux bienvenus!’ mais Sparky se sentir accueilli?

Vétérinaire Christina Slater, de Houston, Texas, rejette l'idée que les éleveurs peuvent prédire la façon dont votre animal de compagnie ajustera à la vie dans un complexe d'appartements. «Chaque chien a sa propre personnalité,’ Christina dit, «La façon dont vous l'avez formé détermine la façon dont votre animal va faire face à une situation nouvelle’

Appartement citadin Bob Carter dit, «Nous avons eu notre chien, Poussiéreux, pour cinq ans. Nous vivions dans une maison, mais ne pas limiter Dusty à la cour. Il a couru avec les autres chiens dans le quartier. Maintenant, Dusty est tenu en laisse, et il ne l'aime pas. Il a pris une aversion à deux autres chiens dans notre bâtiment, et quand je lui marche il ne se soulager à moins que je laisse tomber la laisse.’

Il y a huit bâtiments où Bob vit, et chaque famille locataire a des enfants ou des chiens : ou les deux. Si, dans ce type de situation, votre animal de compagnie ne serait pas dangereux pour les autres chiens ou des enfants, il y a toujours la possibilité que le préjudice pourrait venir à lui d'eux, ou il pourrait être blessé par une voiture dans la zone de stationnement. Même l'animal de compagnie bien-disciplinée ne peut pas être autorisé à courir à volonté dans un milieu de vie compact, et les chiens qui ne sont jamais portés en laisse avant doivent se habituer à la retenue.

D'autre part, some dogs react to life in an apartment complex with enthusiasm. A pet who had a lonely yard life to himself may be delighted to accompany his owner on long walks, et peut répondre joyeusement à la rencontre d'autres chiens.

Un tel jeune chien impatient est nommé Tiger, dont la taille est impressionnante par rapport aux petits chiens vivant dans des appartements à proximité. Dans sa dernière demeure, Tiger a été autorisé à courir, mais il n'y avait pas d'autres chiens dans son quartier. Tiger is only now learning to socialize with other dogs. His customary greeting to a new acquaintance is a swipe of his large paw! Et il le fait avec le plein d'affection et d'excitation. Vraiment, this is one dog that is loving the new changes of living in a small apartment.

Comment dur est un chien pour faire le changement de la vie dans une maison, avec une belle taille cour, d'emménager dans une petite, complexe d'appartements compact?

Idéalement, votre animal de compagnie aura la formation dont il a besoin pour faire le changement avec très peu d'obstacles. toutefois, even a dog who has had basic training must make some adjustments. Pour une chose, il faut du temps pour un chien d'apprendre la différence entre les sons des passants et des sons des visiteurs approchant. Un chien qui a été encouragé à aboyer à des intrus peuvent drainer la patience du propriétaire au cours des premières semaines dans un appartement.

Il y a aussi le problème de l'exposition d'un chien à un 'autre’ groupe de personnes. «La première fois que mon chien, Bellie, a vu un bébé rampant sur la pelouse, ses cheveux se leva!’ rit adolescent Carrie David.

Accepter les différences est pas impossible, bien sûr. Le chien de Carrie, Bellie, est rapidement devenu amis avec les plus jeunes membres de la communauté: 'Bellie est devenue très maternelle envers les bébés,’ ce propriétaire de l'animal, commente avec amusement rire.

psychologues des animaux aiment aussi pour nous rappeler que l'élimination peut être un problème sérieux, en particulier chez les chiens âgés, dans laquelle la souche habituelle d'attente de sortir peut provoquer des troubles rénaux.

Beaucoup de propriétaires qui, une fois conduit un animal de compagnie à la porte, sur le signal, peut ne pas vouloir marcher le chien avant de se rhabiller et se fixer maintenant qu'ils vivent dans un complexe d'appartements avec le trafic constant de personnes qui vont et viennent. Mais constamment mettre votre animal de compagnie quand il demande d'aller pot peut entraîner néphrite.

Les experts suggèrent que votre animal de compagnie, il faut marcher assez souvent pour qu'il est jamais mal à l'aise quand il est à l'intérieur.

Il peut être plus facile de laisser votre chien prendre soin de ses seuls besoins, mais la marche de votre animal de compagnie a aussi ses avantages. Dans un complexe d'appartements de haute densité, toute infection peut devenir une épidémie canine. Lorsque vous marchez avec votre chien, vous pouvez observer ses habitudes pour les premiers signes de la maladie. Vous aurez également un certain contrôle sur éviter l'infection d'animaux malades ou conditions.

Bien sûr, dans toute situation, meilleure garantie de votre chien contre l'infection est sa bonne santé. Fierté dans les soins que vous donnez à votre chien est pas la vanité. Un brillant, pelage propre est armure naturelle contre les acariens, et ongles taillés ne deviennent pas des plaies ouvertes, tandis qu'un collier anti-puces frais peut être la différence entre dix dollars et un cas de heartworms.

Est-il cruel de garder un chien enfermé dans un petit appartement toute la journée, sans interaction ou pot pauses humaines?

Certaines personnes soutiennent que le chien est originaire dans le désert, et son habitat naturel est à l'extérieur. Si nous suivons cette ligne de raisonnement, nous devons admettre l'habitat naturel de l'homme est également en plein air, droite? Pourtant, personne ne peut nier la contribution apportée par la chaleur moderne et la climatisation, eau pure, et la nourriture non contaminée vers la durée de vie de l'homme allongement.

Newsflash: Confort & Avantages Assainissement Notre Animaux Trop!

Laisser un animal de compagnie dans un appartement climatisé est pas nocif, à condition que l'animal a suffisamment de temps pour se soulager à l'extérieur. Bien sûr, restricting your pet to a patio or balcony is not in itself an act of cruelty. There can be valid reasons for leaving your dog outdoors, toutefois, votre préoccupation pour la résidence humaine ne doit pas être sans bon sens en ce qui concerne les quartiers de votre animal, même si elles ne sont que temporaires.

Que votre chien passe sa journée de détente sur le coussin de la meilleure chaise dans le salon, ou dans un coin du balcon, les mêmes normes de santé applicables. Si vous devez le mettre à l'extérieur, pamper him with shelter from the weather. Indulge him with an over-sized water dish. Baby him with a soft, pad propre où il peut se reposer, et lui marcher assez souvent pour qu'il ne sera jamais forcé à terre son propre sol. (Et ne pas oublier que d'un petit balcon peut ne pas fournir assez de place pour l'exercice que votre animal a besoin pour rester en bonne santé.)

Un mot à propos Bugs & Vers…

Les acariens qui causent la gale va rebondir joyeusement du dos de l'un à l'autre chien de, mais votre animal de compagnie choyés ne sera pas à vous soucier de leur. En ce qui concerne les vers sont concernés, si vous habitez dans le Sud, et votre chien n'a pas eu les vers, il est parce qu'aucun autre chiens ont suivi les oeufs dans votre cour.

Dans les climats nordiques, les vers sont contrôlés par des hivers froids. Dans les régions chaudes, worms are all too common. A pet isolated in a fenced in yard may be protected, mais où de nombreux chiens utilisent la même zone pour la défécation, les vers sont facilement transmises à tout animal de compagnie traçant le même chemin.

Les ankylostomes et les ascaris sont deux exemples remarquables de transmission par les matières fécales infectées. Les larves sont plus facilement passé dans les aliments contaminés et l'eau, et vous devez faire attention que votre chien ne mange que ce qui est prévu dans son propre plat.

La vie en appartement minimise totalement ces dangers. toutefois, d'autres infections de chien peuvent se propager par les insectes. Flea infestation doit également être eu tendance à, peu importe si vous vivez dans un petit complexe d'appartements.

En tant que propriétaire de l'animal vivant dans une communauté d'appartement, il est de votre responsabilité de garder votre chien en bonne santé et à l'abri des vers et les parasites, and your duties will go beyond booster shots and checkups. You will not only have to consider your pet’s health from your own viewpoint, mais du point de vue de vos voisins dans le complexe.

Any animal can become temporarily ill. In the close situation of an apartment complex, your dog’s affliction can readily spread to other pets in the area. Thus you must not only be concerned with curing your animal’s infection, mais aussi avec la prévention d'une épidémie parmi les locataires canins.

L'inverse est également vrai: Lorsque la santé ou le comportement d'un animal peuvent affecter tant d'autres animaux de compagnie, la façon dont vos voisins traitent leurs animaux de compagnie est très bien votre entreprise.

Nor is the danger to be regarded as a problem of the animal population exclusively. Most canine infections do not afflict humans, but there are the few exceptions. Rabies, bien sûr, est un exemple évident, mais il est le seul.

Deux autres exceptions qui sont dignes d'attention sont les ankylostomes et ascaris. Les larves ankylostome survivent juste assez longtemps pour produire «rampante éruption’ avec ses démangeaisons tortueux. Ascaris, d'autre part, peuvent survivre chez l'homme. Les larves Voyage par l'intermédiaire du système circulatoire, trouver leur chemin jusque dans la moelle épinière et le cerveau de l'hôte humain.

Ascaris est une affection grave, et une raison importante pour laquelle chaque appartement citadin doit prendre un intérêt dans la façon dont les autres locataires prennent soin de leurs animaux de compagnie. Heureusement, most pet owners want to keep their pets healthy. If they are neglectful, les chances sont la négligence vient du manque d'expérience dans les soins aux animaux, et un mot amical de conseils sera assez efficace.

Il y a, naturellement, des exceptions. toutefois, que les problèmes de proximité augmente dans une zone, des règlements pour contrôler ces problèmes émergent, et vous trouverez peut-être il y a des procédures juridiques pour empêcher un propriétaire d'animal responsable de mettre en danger les autres membres de la communauté d'appartement.

Comme moins de terre est disponible pour la construction de maisons, plus «verticale’ villes apparaîtront. Les familles de plus en plus quitteront la résidence unifamiliale pour les modes de vie à haute densité. avec optimisme, un jour la pratique sanitaire permettra d'éliminer la contagion parmi nos animaux de compagnie, et l'inoculation de tous les animaux de compagnie sera aussi routinière que la vaccination des enfants. Jusque là, chaque famille qui donne la vie privée d'une maison devrait être pleinement conscient de ce que le mouvement implique.

 



Retour au sommet ↑

Dog Tips

My Dog Space

Moving Into A Small Apartment: Does Your Pet Feel Welcome? Part 1

As cities across the world continue to get bigger, small suburban towns are also increasing their population and spawning large apartment facilities to handle the growth. These complexes not only attract newcomers, but also homeowners in the area. Many families are trading the bother of keeping up a house for the convenience of an apartment. Perhaps your family is one of these.

You face the move with mixed feelings. Sadness at parting from old friends, relief at knowing someone else will fix the faucets and cut grass, and anticipation of more time to do the things you want to do. Of course, the task of moving is enormous.  You know it will take a while before your family is comfortable in the new home.  But you’re prepared for some turbulence in the family routine. But what about your pet?

The advertisement read ‘Pets Welcome!’ but will Sparky feel welcome?

Veterinarian Christina Slater, from Houston, Texas, rejects the idea that breeders can foretell how your pet will adjust to life in an apartment complex. ‘Every dog has its own personality,’ Christina says, ‘The way you have trained him determines how your pet will cope with a new situation’

Apartment dweller Bob Carter says, ‘We’ve had our dog, Dusty, for five years. We lived in a house, but did not confine Dusty to the yard. He ran with other dogs in the neighborhood. Now Dusty is kept on a leash, and he does not like it. He has taken a dislike to two other dogs in our building, and when I walk him he won’t relieve himself unless I drop the leash.’

There are eight buildings where Bob lives, and every tenant family has children or dogs : or both. If, in this type of situation, your pet would not be dangerous to other dogs or children, there is always the chance that harm might come to him from them, or he might be injured by a car in the parking area. Even the well-disciplined pet cannot be allowed to run at will in a compact living arrangement, and dogs who have never worn a leash before must become accustomed to restraint.

On the other hand, some dogs react to life in an apartment complex with enthusiasm.  A pet who had a lonely yard life to himself may be delighted to accompany his owner on long walks, and may respond happily to meeting other dogs.

Such an eager young dog is named Tiger, whose size is awesome compared to the small dogs living in nearby apartments. In his last home, Tiger was allowed to run, but there were no other dogs in his neighborhood. Tiger is only now learning to socialize with other dogs.  His customary greeting to a new acquaintance is a swipe of his large paw! And he does so with the fullest of affection and excitement. Truly, this is one dog that is loving the new changes of living in a small  apartment.

How hard is for a dog to make the change of living in a house, with a nice-sized yard, to moving into a small, compact apartment complex?

Ideally, your pet will have the training he needs to make the change with very few hurdles. However, even a dog who has had basic training must make some adjustments.  For one thing, it takes time for a dog to learn the difference between sounds of passers-by and sounds of approaching visitors. A dog that has been encouraged to bark at intruders may drain an owner’s patience during the first few weeks in an apartment.

There is also the problem of exposing a dog to a ‘different’ group of people. ‘The first time my dog, Bellie, saw a baby crawling on the lawn, her hair stood up!’ laughs teenager Carrie David.

Accepting differences is not impossible, of course. Carrie’s dog, Bellie, quickly became friends with the younger members of the community: ‘Bellie has become very motherly toward babies,’ this pet owner comments with laughing amusement.

Animal psychologists also like to remind us that elimination can be a serious problem, particularly in older dogs, in which the habitual strain of waiting to go out can cause kidney disorders.

Many homeowners who once led a pet out the door, on signal, may not want to walk the dog before getting dressed and fixing themselves up now that they live in an apartment complex with the constant traffic of people coming and going. But constantly putting off your pet when he asks to go potty can result in nephritis.

The experts suggest that your pet must be walked often enough so he is never uncomfortable when he is indoors.

It may be easier to let your dog take care of his needs alone, but walking your pet has its advantages too. In a high density apartment complex, any infection can become a canine epidemic. When you walk with your dog you can observe his habits for early signs of illness. You will also have some control over avoiding infection from unhealthy animals or conditions.

Of course, in any situation, your dog’s best guarantee against infection is his good health. Pride in the care you give your dog is not vanity. A glossy, clean coat is natural armor against mites, and trimmed nails don’t become open wounds, while a fresh flea collar may be the difference between ten dollars and a case of heartworms.

Is it cruel to keep a dog locked up inside a small apartment all day long, without any human interaction or potty breaks?

Some people maintain that the dog originated in the wilderness, and his natural habitat is the outdoors. If we follow this line of reasoning, we must admit that man’s natural habitat is also outdoors, right? Yet nobody can deny the contribution made by modern heat and air conditioning, pure water, and uncontaminated food toward lengthening man’s lifespan.

Newsflash: Comfort & Sanitation Benefits Our Pets Too!

Leaving a pet in an air-conditioned apartment is not harmful, provided that the animal has sufficient opportunity to relieve himself outside. Of course, restricting your pet to a patio or balcony is not in itself an act of cruelty.  There can be valid reasons for leaving your dog outdoors, however, your concern for the human residence should not be without good sense regarding your pet’s quarters, even if they are only temporary.

Whether your dog spends his day relaxing on the cushion of the best chair in the living room, or in a corner of the balcony, the same standards of health apply. If you must put him outdoors, pamper him with shelter from the weather.  Indulge him with an over-sized water dish.  Baby him with a soft, clean pad where he can rest, and walk him often enough so he will never be forced to soil his own floor. (And don’t forget that a small balcony may not provide enough room for the exercise that your pet needs in order to stay healthy.)

A Word About Bugs & Worms…

The mites that cause mange will bounce happily from one dog’s back to another’s, but your pampered pet won’t have to worry about them. As far as worms are concerned, if you live in the South, and your dog has not had worms, it’s because no other dogs have tracked eggs across your yard.

In northern climates, worms are controlled by cold winters. In warm areas, worms are all too common.  A pet isolated in a fenced in yard may be protected, but where many dogs use the same general area for defecation, worms are readily passed to any pet tracing the same path.

Hookworms and roundworms are two outstanding examples of transmission through infected feces. Larvae are most easily passed in contaminated food and water, and you must be careful that your dog eats only what is provided in his own dish.

Apartment living totally minimizes these dangers. However, other dog infections can be spread by insects. Flea infestation must also be tended to, regardless if you live in a small apartment complex.

As a pet owner living in an apartment community, it is your responsibility to keep your dog healthy and safe from worms and parasites, and your duties will go beyond booster shots and checkups.  You will not only have to consider your pet’s health from your own viewpoint, but from the viewpoint of your neighbors in the complex.

Any animal can become temporarily ill.  In the close situation of an apartment complex, your dog’s affliction can readily spread to other pets in the area.  Thus you must not only be concerned with curing your animal’s infection, but also with preventing an epidemic among the canine tenants.

The reverse is also true: Where the health or behavior of one animal can affect so many other pets, the way your neighbors treat their pets is very much your business.

Nor is the danger to be regarded as a problem of the animal population exclusively.  Most canine infections do not afflict humans, but there are the few exceptions.  Rabies, of course, is an obvious example, but it is not the only one.

Two other exceptions that are worthy of notice are the hookworm and roundworm. The hookworm larvae survive just long enough to produce ‘creeping eruption’ with its torturous itching. Roundworms, on the other hand, can survive in humans. The larvae travel by way of the circulatory system, finding their way even into the spinal cord and brain of the human host.

Roundworms is a serious affliction, and a prominent reason why every apartment dweller must take an interest in the way other tenants care for their pets. Fortunately, most pet owners want to keep their pets healthy.  If they are neglectful, chances are the neglect comes out of lack of experience in caring for animals, and a friendly word of advice will be effective enough.

There are, naturally, exceptions. However, as the problems of proximity increases in an area, regulations to control these problems emerge, and you may find there are legal procedures to prevent a responsible pet owner from endangering other members of the apartment community.

As less land is available for home building, more ‘upright’ cities will appear. Families increasingly will leave the single-family residence for high-density living arrangements. Hopefully, someday sanitary practice will eliminate contagion among our pets, and inoculation of all pets will be as routine as vaccination of children. Until then, every family that gives up the privacy of a house should be fully aware of what the move involves.

 



Back to Top ↑