狗的健康

我的狗的空間

髕骨脫位: 照顧你的狗在治療後

雖然脫位髕骨並不需要在急診室待治療的病症, 讓你的狗測試這種疾病阻止它越來越差.

所有的狗應進行測試,因為膝蓋下滑會影響所有品種和尺寸的狗. 然而, 如果你擁有一個小型或玩具品種的狗, 你應該讓他盡快測試,髕骨脫位盡可能.

負責飼養者應該知道,這種情況是遺傳, 因此,, 他們已經在幼犬大約六週齡測試, 最好將它們發送到他們的新家園前.

治療選擇一溜骸骨

物理測試, 隨著時間的長短,狗被示出的症狀,如跛行, 跳繩, 和攜帶他的腿, 將決定他的診斷. 以指示病症的嚴重程度, 大腿骨和膝關節的X射線將被執行.

治療不需要I級, 雖然你應該檢查你的狗的情況下,這個問題變得更糟. 對於二年級, III, 和IV, 手術可以以修復畸形進行.

手術由骨科醫生完成,包括糾正狗的骨骼排列, 他繃緊關節囊, 和/或加深的槽,其中的膝蓋骨的遊樂設施.

這類手術的費用是間 $1,500 至 $3,000, 根據情況的嚴重性.

雖然不是一個可怕的緊急狀態, 最好是盡快諮詢您的獸醫,如果你的狗是從膝蓋骨溜患. 如果需要手術, 您的獸醫會向您推薦的骨科專家誰將會執行該操作.

不要等待! 如果你的狗有二級的條件, III級, 或IV級, 最好是現在給他的手術病情惡化之前. 骨關節的進一步的損害可能使手術的結果不太成功.

照顧你的狗手術後

手術後, 您的獸醫會開你的狗的止痛藥物,以及抗感染應採取的,平均一個星期. 你的狗將需要在這段時間多休息, 這意味著很少的活動,至少 1 半週.

他應保持在皮帶屋外時. 讓他在一個小而舒適的房間,以避免跳躍, 跑來跑去, 或其他類型的活動,可以施加壓力,他的膝蓋.

物理治療將開始圍繞 1 手術後一周. 帶他走慢了大約五分鐘. 如果可能的話, 帶他游泳. 你的狗應該能夠處理更長的手術六週後走在皮帶,並能有完全恢復正常使用他的膝蓋約 15 手術後兩週.

 



回到頂部 ↑

Dog Health

My Dog Space

Luxated Patella: Caring For Your Dog During and After Treatment

Although Luxated patella is not a condition that needs to be treated in the emergency room, getting your dog tested for this disorder prevents it from becoming worse.

All dogs should be tested because a slipped kneecap can affect dogs of all breeds and sizes. However, if you own a small or a toy dog breed, you should have him tested for luxated patella as soon as possible.

Responsible breeders should know that this condition is hereditary, and therefore, have their puppies tested at around six weeks of age, preferable before sending them to their new homes.

Treatment Options For A Slipped Kneecap

Physical tests, along with the length of time that the dog is showing symptoms such as limping, skipping, and carrying his leg, will determine his diagnosis. To indicate the severity of the condition, an X-ray of the thigh bone and the knee will be performed.

Treatment is not required for Grade I, although you should check your dog in case the problem gets worse. For Grades II, III, and IV, surgery can be performed in order to repair the malformation.

Surgery is done by an Orthopedic surgeon and includes correcting the dog’s bone alignment, tightening his joint capsule, and/or deepening the groove where the kneecap rides.

The cost for this kind of surgery is between $1,500 to $3,000, depending on the severity of the case.

Although not a dire emergency, it is best to consult your vet as soon as possible if your dog is suffering from a slipped kneecap. If surgery is needed, your vet will refer you to an orthopedic specialist who will perform the operation.

Don’t wait! If your dog has a condition of Grade II, Grade III, or Grade IV, it is better to give him the surgery now before the condition worsens. Further damage of the bone and joint may make the outcome of the surgery less successful.

Caring For Your Dog After The Surgery

After surgery, your vet will prescribe medications for your dog’s pain as well as anti-inflammation to be taken for an average of one week. Your dog will need plenty of rest during this time, meaning very little activity for at least 1 ½ weeks.

He should be kept on the leash when outside the house. Keep him in a small and comfortable room to avoid jumping, running around, or other types of activities that can put pressure on his knee.

Physical therapy will begin around 1 week after the surgery. Take him for a slow walk for about five minutes. If possible, take him swimming. Your dog should be able to handle longer walks on the leash six weeks after the surgery and be able to have complete recovery and normal use of his knee approximately 15 weeks after the surgery.

 



Back to Top ↑